• Accueil
  • Pianos Balleron
  • Workshop
  • Sylvie Fouanon
  • The team
  • The History
  • Balleron Japan
  • EPV
  • Expertise
  • Heritage
  • Piano history over times
  • Famous Pianos Manufacturers
  • Services
  • Piano tuning
  • Voicing
  • Piano regulation
  • Restoration
  • Conservation
  • Cabinetry
  • Expert available
  • Export
  • Estimate
  • Pianos
  • Restored Pianos
  • Pianos for sale
  • Balleron Collection
  • Gallery
  • News
  • Press
  • Contact us
  • Faq
  • Lexicon
  • Pianos Gaveau

    Gaveau

    Paris, France

    "Joseph Gabriel Gaveau was born in 1824 in Romorantin between Loir and Cher.

    He established his workshop in Paris, rue des vinaigriers, in 1847 after having been an apprentice in several Parisian workshops. From the very beginning, he was committed to making excellent solid upright pianos, imitating Erard’s design while working on the development of upright piano actions, in particular the angle of escapement. He created a action to meet his requirements, which would soon become known as the “Gaveau action”.

    The growing reputation of his pianos allowed him to build a small factory on rue Sevran, where he employed 200 people in around 1890 and produced 1500 pianos a year.

    In 1893, feeling his old age as he approached 70, he passed the management of his company to his sons Gabriel Eugène and Etienne. The company became “Société Gaveau”. From 1896 onwards they developed the brand by opening a new, more modern factory in Fontenay Sous Bois near Paris. It employed 300 workers and could produce 2,000 pianos a year. It was in this factory that most of the qualified piano makers in Paris would be trained. Etienne Gaveau took charge of management, and set up the company headquarters in the heart of Paris, rue de la Boétie, building a large concert hall there in 1908 to promote the quality of their pianos: the famous “Salle Gaveau”.

    Gaveau’s reputation owed much to the concerts wisely organised by Etienne in their up-to-date concert hall. The most famous pianists were invited to play on the company’s instruments, especially their famous concert pianos.

    The small “model 1” quarter grand, well-known in Paris, provided stiff competition for Pleyel and Erard pianos for the Parisian home market. Inlaid sun designs and beautiful exteriors added to the maker’s growing reputation.

    In 1911, the brothers argued and Gabriel founded his own premises where he was free to explore his new ideas for making grand pianos. He created his own style, making quarter grands with elaborate exteriors using precious woods.

    Around 1930, a subsidiary brand was created: M.A.G. (Marcel et André Gaveau) which made small solid upright pianos, with modest prices.

    War broke out in 1939, just as the company produced its 95,000th piano.

    Etienne died in 1943, and his sons Marcel and André continued on despite various problems.

    In 1960, the company merged with Erard, becoming “Société Gaveau-Erard”, and then Pleyel joined, also in decline, creating “Les Grandes Marques Reunies” but 1965 brought liquidation and the final closure of the factories."

    Gaveau

    Paris, France

    "Joseph Gabriel Gaveau was born in 1824 in Romorantin between Loir and Cher.

    He established his workshop in Paris, rue des vinaigriers, in 1847 after having been an apprentice in several Parisian workshops. From the very beginning, he was committed to making excellent solid upright pianos, imitating Erard’s design while working on the development of upright piano actions, in particular the angle of escapement. He created a action to meet his requirements, which would soon become known as the “Gaveau action”.

    The growing reputation of his pianos allowed him to build a small factory on rue Sevran, where he employed 200 people in around 1890 and produced 1500 pianos a year.

    In 1893, feeling his old age as he approached 70, he passed the management of his company to his sons Gabriel Eugène and Etienne. The company became “Société Gaveau”. From 1896 onwards they developed the brand by opening a new, more modern factory in Fontenay Sous Bois near Paris. It employed 300 workers and could produce 2,000 pianos a year. It was in this factory that most of the qualified piano makers in Paris would be trained. Etienne Gaveau took charge of management, and set up the company headquarters in the heart of Paris, rue de la Boétie, building a large concert hall there in 1908 to promote the quality of their pianos: the famous “Salle Gaveau”.

    Gaveau’s reputation owed much to the concerts wisely organised by Etienne in their up-to-date concert hall. The most famous pianists were invited to play on the company’s instruments, especially their famous concert pianos.

    The small “model 1” quarter grand, well-known in Paris, provided stiff competition for Pleyel and Erard pianos for the Parisian home market. Inlaid sun designs and beautiful exteriors added to the maker’s growing reputation.

    In 1911, the brothers argued and Gabriel founded his own premises where he was free to explore his new ideas for making grand pianos. He created his own style, making quarter grands with elaborate exteriors using precious woods.

    Around 1930, a subsidiary brand was created: M.A.G. (Marcel et André Gaveau) which made small solid upright pianos, with modest prices.

    War broke out in 1939, just as the company produced its 95,000th piano.

    Etienne died in 1943, and his sons Marcel and André continued on despite various problems.

    In 1960, the company merged with Erard, becoming “Société Gaveau-Erard”, and then Pleyel joined, also in decline, creating “Les Grandes Marques Reunies” but 1965 brought liquidation and the final closure of the factories."

• Accueil
  • Pianos Balleron
  • L'atelier
  • Sylvie Fouanon
  • L'équipe
  • L'histoire
  • Balleron Japon
  • EPV
  • Expertise de piano
  • Héritage
  • L'histoire du Piano à travers le temps
  • Les Grandes Manufactures de Pianos
  • Prestations
  • Accord du piano
  • Harmonisation
  • Réglage du piano
  • Restauration
  • Conservation
  • Ébénisterie
  • Expertise privée
  • Export
  • Devis
  • Pianos
  • Pianos restaurés
  • Pianos à vendre
  • Collection Balleron
  • Galerie
  • Actualités
  • Presse
  • Contact
  • Faq
  • Lexique
  • Pianos Gaveau

    Les Grandes Marques

    Gaveau

    Paris, France

    Joseph Gabriel GAVEAU est né en 1824 à Romorantin entre Loir et Cher.

    Il crée son atelier à Paris, rue des vinaigriers, en 1847 après avoir été apprenti dans plusieurs ateliers parisien. Dès ses débuts, il s'attache à fabriquer de bons pianos droits solides en imitant la construction Erard tout en travaillant à l'évolution de la mécanique du piano droit notamment sur l'angle de l'échappement. Il crée une mécanique selon ses spécificités que l'on appellera bientôt "la mécanique Gaveau".

    La renommée grandissante de ses pianos lui permet de construire une petite usine, rue Sevran, ou il emploie déjà 200 ouvriers vers 1890 et produit 1500 unités par an.

    En 1893, fatigué par ses 70 années il laisse la gestion de son entreprise à ses fils Gabriel Eugène et Etienne. La firme devient la "Société GAVEAU". Dès 1896 ils développent la marque en ouvrant une nouvelle usine plus moderne tout près de Paris à Fontenay sous bois qui emploie 300 ouvriers pour produire 2000 unités. C'est dans cette usine que vont être formés la plupart des ouvriers qualifiés à Paris. Etienne Gaveau s'occupe de l'administration et installe le siège social de la société en plein Paris, rue de la Boétie, pour y créer en 1908 une grande salle de concert pouvant promouvoir la qualité de ses pianos : la fameuse "Salle GAVEAU".

    La renommée de la maison GAVEAU doit beaucoup aux concerts judicieusement organisés par Etienne dans sa salle de concert moderne pour l'époque. Les plus grands artistes sont invités à jouer les instruments de la marque surtout ses fameux pianos de concerts.

    Le petit 1/4 de queue "modèle 1", très connu à Paris, concurrence nettement les pianos Pleyel et Erard dans les appartements parisiens. Les marqueteries en soleil et l'élégance de la caisse ajoutent à la publicité grandissante de la marque.

    En 1911, les frères se fâchent et Gabriel fonde sa propre unité de fabrication dans laquelle il peut assouvir ses idées nouvelles dans la facture des pianos à queue. Il crée son propre style en fabricant des petits pianos quart de queue avec des ébénisteries travaillées avec des bois précieux.

    Vers 1930, une sous marque est crée: M.A.G. (Marcel et André Gaveau) qui produit des petits pianos droits solides et pas chers.

    La guerre éclate en 1939 alors que la société vient de produire son 95000ème piano

    Etienne meurt en 1943, ses fils Marcel et André continuent malgré les difficultés.

    En 1960, la firme fusionne avec Erard pour s'appeler "Société Gaveau-Erard" puis vient Pleyel également en déroute sous la marque "LES GRANDES MARQUES REUNIES" mais 1965 c’est la liquidation et la fermeture définitive de ses usines.

    Gaveau

    Paris, France

    Joseph Gabriel GAVEAU est né en 1824 à Romorantin entre Loir et Cher.

    Il crée son atelier à Paris, rue des vinaigriers, en 1847 après avoir été apprenti dans plusieurs ateliers parisien. Dès ses débuts, il s'attache à fabriquer de bons pianos droits solides en imitant la construction Erard tout en travaillant à l'évolution de la mécanique du piano droit notamment sur l'angle de l'échappement. Il crée une mécanique selon ses spécificités que l'on appellera bientôt "la mécanique Gaveau".

    La renommée grandissante de ses pianos lui permet de construire une petite usine, rue Sevran, ou il emploie déjà 200 ouvriers vers 1890 et produit 1500 unités par an.

    En 1893, fatigué par ses 70 années il laisse la gestion de son entreprise à ses fils Gabriel Eugène et Etienne. La firme devient la "Société GAVEAU". Dès 1896 ils développent la marque en ouvrant une nouvelle usine plus moderne tout près de Paris à Fontenay sous bois qui emploie 300 ouvriers pour produire 2000 unités. C'est dans cette usine que vont être formés la plupart des ouvriers qualifiés à Paris. Etienne Gaveau s'occupe de l'administration et installe le siège social de la société en plein Paris, rue de la Boétie, pour y créer en 1908 une grande salle de concert pouvant promouvoir la qualité de ses pianos : la fameuse "Salle GAVEAU".

    La renommée de la maison GAVEAU doit beaucoup aux concerts judicieusement organisés par Etienne dans sa salle de concert moderne pour l'époque. Les plus grands artistes sont invités à jouer les instruments de la marque surtout ses fameux pianos de concerts.

    Le petit 1/4 de queue "modèle 1", très connu à Paris, concurrence nettement les pianos Pleyel et Erard dans les appartements parisiens. Les marqueteries en soleil et l'élégance de la caisse ajoutent à la publicité grandissante de la marque.

    En 1911, les frères se fâchent et Gabriel fonde sa propre unité de fabrication dans laquelle il peut assouvir ses idées nouvelles dans la facture des pianos à queue. Il crée son propre style en fabricant des petits pianos quart de queue avec des ébénisteries travaillées avec des bois précieux.

    Vers 1930, une sous marque est crée: M.A.G. (Marcel et André Gaveau) qui produit des petits pianos droits solides et pas chers.

    La guerre éclate en 1939 alors que la société vient de produire son 95000ème piano

    Etienne meurt en 1943, ses fils Marcel et André continuent malgré les difficultés.

    En 1960, la firme fusionne avec Erard pour s'appeler "Société Gaveau-Erard" puis vient Pleyel également en déroute sous la marque "LES GRANDES MARQUES REUNIES" mais 1965 c’est la liquidation et la fermeture définitive de ses usines.